A story of Chicken and an Eagle.

“I don’t want to be a Chicken, I want to be an Eagle.”

Fly like an Eagle
Fly like an Eagle

A friend. Yes, one of the most amazing friend I’ve ever met on planet Earth said that. Was it because of the two bottles of beer and a red wine? I really didn’t think so.

As usual, we were having a wonderful evening of conversation while we both indulge our appetite for beer and red wine. We had a mixed fun of stories, both crazy, not-so-crazy and brilliant ideas! We believed we we’re “Great Minds” and that’s what we are. We were basically talking about our production project. My friend is a playwright and an actress, I am an artist and a writer of some sort … and we are both Producers. What a combination of great minds!

So what about chicken and eagle? I don’t think it is a good combination though. Well here’s how it all started. We were relating stories of some people we know who have big dreams and big ideas but never allowed themselves to actualize those dreams and ideas simply because they were uncourageous to do so. Part of the reason is, they lack confidence… or they cannot accept other people’s reaction or comments of what they’re doing.  Fear, that’s what it is.

My friend. She’s funny, she’s smart and she has no fear.  I can just listen to her forever and every word she utters reflect some sort of emotion.. a language of unwritten story. She just kept talking and while she relates a narrative, I can feel her drive and her to desire to pursue something “Big.”  Then all of a sudden she said, “I don’t want to be a chicken, I want to be an Eagle.

It sounded a bit cliché but in itself lies a real display of courage. It reminded me of a parable of a “King of Birds,”  the Bird of the Air. She didn’t want to be that eagle who lived and died a chicken… because that’s all it believed itself to be. *

Then I told my friend, “Sometimes we need to experience that we were like chickens in order to realize that we really wanted to become an Eagle.”

At the end of our conversation, I learned something again,  “Even if you’re a real chicken but you think like an eagle, you’re an Eagle… and even if you’re a real eagle but think like a chicken, you’re a Chicken. Thank you my friend, you’re really special. Every time I am with you, I always learn something new.

Let’s fly like an Eagle. 🙂

This is for you: http://youtu.be/Iy6pIaxdHOg

One thought on “A story of Chicken and an Eagle.

Leave a Reply

